Ocean - Great Lakes Challenge Cup

Ocean - Great Lakes Challenge Cup
First offered by Chicago Yacht Club in 1915 to encourage competition between the club and eastern yacht clubs. The first club to accept the challenge was Indian Harbor Yacht Club of Greenwich, CT. Addison Hahan skippered the P Class yacht Josephine to victory for IHYC and the cup went to Greenwich. In 1946, at the suggestion of IHYC, the competition was reinstated using Luders L-16’s and continued for eight years. The challenge was re-started in Shields in 2014.
YearAward WinnerWinner's FleetHost FleetDetails
2021John Burnham
Reed Baer
Fleet #9 Newport, RIMarion, MA
Beverly Yacht Club
2021 Results
2019Eric AndersonFleet #12 Monterey, CAMonterey, CA
Monterey Pennisula
2019 Results
2018Eric Anderson
Todd Greene
Fleet #12 Monterey, CANewport, RI
Ida Lewis Yacht Club
2018 Results
2017John Burnham
Reed Baer
Fleet #9 Newport, RILarchmont, NY
Larchmont Yacht Club
2017 Results
2016William BerryFleet #10, Marion, MAMarion, MA
Beverly Yacht Club
2016 Results
2015William BerryFleet #10, Marion, MAMonterey, CA
Monterey Peninsula Yacht Club
2015 Results
2014Pahktun ShahFleet #12, Monterey, CAChicago, IL
Chicago Yacht Club

List of winners from 1915 to 1953.